The City of Statesboro operates under the Council-Manager form of government, established by a 1999 Charter amendment. The Mayor is elected at large while the five council members are elected by district. All elections are non-partisan, and terms are for four years with three of the members elected every two years.

All elections for Mayor and City Council members are conducted in accordance with the Georgia Election Code and Rule of the State Election Board.