

February 19, 2021, 7p, via Zoom Youth Commission Meeting Minutes

In attendance: Renata Newbill-Jallow, Lainie Jenkins, Debbie Vives, Karen Lambie, Stacey Grant, Lakesha Hill, LaShai Campbell, Mike Jones, Ameaka Lockhart, Caitlin Brady, Fallon Brown, Jennifer Mock, Tina Patterson, Robert Bolton, Jr, Tracy Linderholm

City Council Liaisons: Jason Boyles, Amanda Clements

Following introductions of all members present, Lainie Jenkins called the meeting to order and noted the new members bring a richness of diverse professions, interests and life experiences that will greatly enhance the group's work going forward. Minutes of the last official meeting (pre-Covid restrictions) were not available.

Renata Newbill-Jallow walked the group through SCYN's history, mission, accomplishments and hopes for the future as both a network hub for youth resources and a generator of activities that will improve outcomes for our community's youth (PDF attached). Both Renata and Lainie are stepping down from their co-chairperson roles. Jennifer Witherington, the group's past secretary has also stepped down, leaving openings in both Chair and Secretary. The group took into consideration volunteers and nominations for new officers and welcomed Jennifer Mock in the position of Secretary and of Kristina (Tina) Patterson and Lakesha Hill sharing responsibilities of Co-Chairpersons. Lainie and Renata will share all contact information of the new officers with City Clerk, Leah Harden and will serve as support for the new officers.

Meeting time and day was discussed with a slight time change to best accommodate the new group and new officers. Meeting day will remain on the Third Thursday of each month, with the time moved to 6:00pm.

Meeting was adjourned at 7:57 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Lainie Jenkins